

iah Australian National Chapter NSW Branch



www.iah.org.au

Tuesday 12th March 2013 5:30 pm to 8 pm

Parsons Brinckerhoff offices

Ernst & Young Centre Level 26, 680 George Street, Sydney CBD **For late arrivals, please phone Ellen Kwantes on 0434 996 372 for access**

IAH NSW proudly presents a talk by Dr. Noel Merrick, Heritage Computing

How does aquifer interference policy affect groundwater assessments?

The NSW Aguifer Interference Policy was issued in September 2012 following robust debate on the draft Stage 1 policy released for consultation in March 2012. The essence of the policy, from a practitioner's point of view, is compliance with a set of minimal harm criteria for any aquifer interference activity, or more correctly "minimal impact considerations". The criteria on water table, water pressure and water quality are presented in tables that run for 10 pages. But there are no illustrative figures. This talk will present diagrams for the most important criteria in an effort to explain what they mean and, in particular, how practitioners have to modify their traditional methods for groundwater assessments. The implications will be illustrated with practical examples taken from Environmental Assessments in the public domain. One of the major changes is the introduction of a preliminary Gateway process for State significant development applications for mining or coal seam gas extraction on strategic agricultural land. This requires estimation of water takes and impacts based on a "simple modelling platform". The audience will be encouraged to discuss how "simple" the profession's approach should be to this new process. The talk will also visit some of the concepts in the Stage 1 policy that were subsequently removed, in case there is a misguided perception that they still apply. Some of the modelling that was done to assess Stage 1 implications will illustrate why the earlier policy was unworkable.

IAH NSW Branch – 2013 Committee

Committee Chair – Katarina David, CDMSmith Treasurer – Sara Mehrabi, UTS/SMEC Secretary –John Fennel, RPS Technical presentation secretary – Graham Hawkes, AECOM Meeting Facilitator and Internal Communication- Ellen Kwantes, Parsons Brinkerhoff Awards Secretary- Dr.Anna Grieve, Xstrata Newsletter Champion – Dr. Ben Rotter, Coffey Web Champion –Dr. Doug Andreson, UNSW WRL Sponsorship Champion- Mark Anderson, ANSTO University Liaison – Dr. Bill Milne-Home International Student Sponsorship Champion – Jay Punthakey IAH International Vice President, Australasia, IAH National Vice President –Dr. Wendy Timms, WRL UNSW IAH National Secretary –Dr.Lange Jorstad, Golder Associates Member– Andrew McCallum, UNSW

The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our 2012 Gold Sponsors:



Pty Ltd Environmental & Groundwater Consulting