

iah Australian National Chapter NSW Branch

www.iah.org.au



Tuesday 18th June 2013 5:30 pm for 6 pm start

Commercial Club 77 Gurwood Street Wagga

For late arrivals, please phone Katarina David on 0412 080 360 for access

IAH NSW proudly presents a talk by **Scott Lawson**, Senior Hydrogeologist at Geoscience Australia in Canberra

Guidance for Groundwater Storage Utilisation

Groundwater storage utilisation is aquifer-scale extraction of groundwater at rates that cannot be matched, at least temporarily, by increased recharge or decreased discharge from the aquifer. Under these conditions, groundwater is drawn from storage, resulting in lowered groundwater levels and pressures, and reduced volume of groundwater in the aquifer.

The National Water Commission (NWC) engaged several consultants to develop national guidance for groundwater storage utilisation. This project was completed in 2012 and formed part of the NWC's National Groundwater Action Plan which addressed key knowledge and resource impediments affecting the management of Australia's groundwater resources.

Scott Lawson was the consultant project manager for the NWC work, and has also worked on management of groundwater entitlements and extraction that incorporate aspects of groundwater storage utilisation. He will speak on the work undertaken for the NWC, including examples of and approaches to storage utilisation, and development of the national guidance.

IAH NSW Branch - 2013 Committee

Committee Chair - Katarina David, CDMSmith

Treasurer - Sara Mehrabi, UTS/SMEC

Secretary - John Fennel, RPS

Technical presentation secretary - Graham Hawkes, AECOM

Meeting Facilitator and Internal Communication - Ellen Kwantes, Parsons Brinkerhoff

Awards Secretary - Dr. Anna Grieve, Xstrata

Newsletter Champion - Dr. Ben Rotter, Coffey

Web Champion - Dr. Doug Andreson, UNSW WRL

Sponsorship Champion - Mark Anderson, ANSTO

University Liaison - Dr. Bill Milne-Home

International Student Sponsorship Champion - Jay Punthakey

IAH International Vice President, Australasia, IAH National Vice President – Dr. Wendy Timms, WRL UNSW

IAH National Secretary - Dr. Lange Jorstad, Golder Associates

Member - Andrew McCallum, UNSW

The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our Gold Sponsors:















The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our Silver Sponsors:











