

# iah Australian National Chapter NSW Branch

www.iah.org.au



Tuesday 12 June 2018 5.30pm for a 6pm start

### **WSP** office

Ernst & Young Centre Level 27, 680 George Street, Sydney CBD

\*\*For late arrivals, please phone Peps on 0428936645 for access\*\*





IAH NSW proudly presents a talk by **Ross Best** Senior Principal and Head of Practice – Geotechnical Australia and New Zealand of Coffey Services Australia

## Control of groundwater to excavations: barriers and dewatering

Control of groundwater seepage to excavations is important to manage impacts on the surrounding groundwater system and to restrict the volumes of water to be dealt with by treatment systems and for discharge. The presentation will address the assessment of groundwater inflows and impacts and the mitigation measures which may need to be considered.

The use of analytical methods for various aspects of assessment and design will be discussed. While numerical methods have advanced markedly in recent time analytical tools still have a place in the assessment of groundwater aspects of projects.

Ross is a Senior Principal and is the Head of Practice – Geotechnical Australia and New Zealand of Coffey Services Australia. Ross has been based in Sydney for the bulk of his career and has provided groundwater advice on a wide variety of projects ranging for road and rail design and construction projects to building developments.

#### Please RSVP to:

#### IAH NSW Branch - 2018 Committee

Committee Chair - Katarina David, UNSW

Treasurer – Tingting Liu, HydroSimulations

Secretary - Lee Douglass, Arcadis

Technical Presentation Secretary - Dr Richard Cresswell, Ecological Australia

Internal Communication - Sean Daykin, Jacobs

Membership Champion - Angus McFarlane, AECOM

Meeting Facilitator - Pepijn van Ravesteyn, WSP

Newsletter Champion - Ellen Kwantes, WSP

Web Champion - Serena Yeung, AECOM

Sponsorship Champion - Richard Green, DPI

International Student Sponsorship Champion - Dr. Jay Punthakey, Ecoseal

IAH International Australasia and National Vice President - Dr. Wendy Timms, WRL UNSW

IAH NSW Vice President - Graham Hawkes, AECOM

IAH Australia President – Dr. Lange Jorstad, Geosyntec Consultants Pty Ltd

Student and Young Professional Coordinator and University Liaison-Sienna Xue, WSP

## The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our Gold Sponsors:















Earth Science Information Systems

The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our Silver Sponsors:





