

# iah Australian National Chapter NSW Branch





\*

NATIONAL CENTRE FOR GROUNDWATER RESEARCH AND TRAINING

Tuesday 27 November 2018 5.30pm for a 6pm start WSP office

Level 27, 680 George Street, Sydney CBD Meet in foyer

\*\*For late arrivals, please phone Aaron on 0420766809 for access\*\*





IAH NSW proudly presents the 2018 Distinguished Lecture Series talk by Dr Jennifer Stauber, Chief Research Scientist, CSIRO Land & Water

## **Groundwater Quality: An Ecotoxicology Perspective**

Groundwater ecosystems contain a unique suite of microbes and invertebrates that provide valuable ecosystem services, including maintenance of aquifer porosity and flow, and breakdown of many contaminants. Regulation of groundwater systems has previously focused on the effects of groundwater extraction on beneficial uses, or as a source of contaminants to surface waters, rather than on the protection of groundwater ecosystems themselves.

Due to the connectivity between groundwater and surface waters, a holistic approach to their management and protection is required. However, groundwaters have unique physicochemical and hydrological properties, and often endemic biota, that necessitate the development of specific groundwater quality objectives.

This talk will highlight some of the emerging contaminants from industrial, mining, coal seam gas and defence activities e.g. PFOS, that have the potential to impact groundwater quality and ecological health. Case studies demonstrating the application of new ecotoxicological tools such as bioassays and molecular (-omics) techniques to assess impacts on groundwater biota and biodiversity will be discussed

#### Please RSVP to:

Katarina David <u>katarinadavid@hotmail.com</u> mob 0412 080 360 Graham Hawkes <u>Graham.Hawkes@aecom.com</u> mob 0417 134 422

#### IAH NSW Branch - 2018 Committee

Committee Chair – Katarina David, UNSW
Treasurer – Tingting Liu, HydroSimulations
Secretary – Lee Douglass, Arcadis
Technical Presentation Secretary – Dr Richard Cresswell, Ecological Australia
Internal Communication – Sean Daykin, Jacobs
Membership Champion – Angus McFarlane, AECOM
Meeting Facilitator – Aaron Wong, WSP
Newsletter Champion – Ellen Kwantes, WSP
Web Champion – Serena Yeung, AECOM
Sponsorship Champion - Richard Green, DPI
International Student Sponsorship Champion – Dr. Jay Punthakey, Ecoseal
IAH NSW Vice President – Graham Hawkes, AECOM
IAH Australia President – Dr.Lange Jorstad, Geosyntec Consultants Pty Ltd
Student and Young Professional Coordinator and University Liaison – Sienna Xue

### The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our Gold Sponsors:















EarthScience Information Systems

The IAH NSW Branch is grateful for our Silver Sponsors:





### www.iah.org.au

You're receiving this because youre on our current mailing list or subscribed via <u>Our site</u>.







IAH Australia