Western Australia Chapter

The Western Australian Chapter of the International Association of Hydrogeologists has nearly three hundred members, many of whom work in the mining industry. It is supported by a committee of 17 hydrogeologists; their positions and contact details are listed below.

Events calendar

The WA Chapter has a very active technical programme. So far we’ve had three technical presentations and one excursion. The WA committee has also arranged a social evening in recent years which appears to becoming more popular each year.  The next few events are shown below; and  draft technical program for the remaining of 2014 is also available here. If you’d like to receive announcements by email, please let us know at wa.branch@iah.org.au or click on the button below.


  • 25/08/2014
    • Darcy Lecture, Dr Dorthe Wildenschild
      Starts: 25/08/2014
      Ends: 26/08/2014
      Location: TBA
      Description: Dorthe is an Associate pProfessor at Oregon State University. She will give the 2014 NGWA Darcy Lecture "What Happens in the Pore, No Longer Stays in the Pore"


Committee responsibilities are outlined here.

President: Grant Bolton
Vice President: Ian Brandes de Roos
Secretary: Mariajose Romera-Seguro
Treasurer: Peter de Broekert
Meetings Secretary: Todd Hodgkin
Ministerial Liaison: Keith Brown
Education Representative: Ryan Vogwill
Media Liaison: Robin Smith
Membership Champion (Acting): Mariajose Romera-Seguro
Presenter Coordinator and Assistant: Geoff PettiferPauline Amez-Droz
Sponsorship Champion: Bradley van Blomestein
Newsletter Champion and Assistant: Keith Brown, Melissa Nyga
Web Champion: Eduardo De Sousa
Web Assistants: Lynn ReidJohn Enkelmann
State Liaison: Philip Commander
Student Champion: Gemma Bloomfield

Contact Details

Email: wa.branch@iah.org.au